Cyprus Marine Club Holds Its 8th Annual General Meeting

On Friday, May 26, 2023, the Cyprus Marine Club held its 8th Annual General Meeting at Epsilon, Limassol Marina. In the absence of President Capt. Eberhard Koch, the meeting was opened by Vice President Mr. Andreas Chrysostomou. General Secretary Ms. Julia Paczkowska presented the President’s Annual Report, updating members on recent developments, membership growth, past events, and future plans.

Capt. Koch, in his report, expressed pride in the accomplishments of the 2022–2023 season and encouraged continued fellowship among members. He thanked members and board members for their support, highlighting the crucial role of annual sponsors such as the Cyprus Union of Shipowners, Island Oil Holdings, and OL Shipping Group.

“Today, as every year, we all owe special acknowledgment to our sponsors, whose contributions have enabled us to achieve significant developments and opportunities to enhance your membership.”

Special recognition was also given to the Board of Directors and speakers, including the immediate past Shipping Deputy Minister, Mr. Vassilios Demetriades, who praised the club’s contributions to the Cyprus shipping community.

“I believe what this club offers to the Cyprus shipping community is invaluable. It brings everyone together to express views, concerns, and ideas. Congratulations on this great job, and consider me very active in this club from now on.”

The meeting also welcomed a new corporate member, Internship Navigation, bringing the total membership to 153. This growth reflects the club’s positive trajectory.

During the meeting, sponsors were invited to speak. Mr. Polys V. Hajioannou, representing Safe Bulkers, Inc. and the Cyprus Union of Shipowners, emphasized the importance of supporting the Cyprus Flag and Registry.

“Cyprus has a vibrant shipping community, and it is our duty to support our shipping registry. Without a strong registry, there would be no reason for us to gather here or have offices in Cyprus. We need a strong voice in global shipping decisions.”

Following Mr. Hajioannou, additional short addresses were made by Mr. Michalis Hadjistylianou of OneNovation, Mr. Sunil Kapoor of FML Shipmanagement, Mr. Andreas Christophides of Lapwings Maritime, and Mr. Andreas Chrysostomou of Tototheo Maritime.

After the speeches, the Vice President concluded the agenda of the 8th Annual General Assembly successfully. Special thanks were given to the entire PNS team for their flawless organization.

The evening ended with a beautiful cocktail reception and a rich buffet by the sea, enjoyed by the club members late into the evening.

Source Link

Back to top button